SQL says a File is missing when sysFiles says it isn’t.

Posted: August 6, 2012 in DBA, Files, SQL 2000
Tags: ,

This happened on a SQL 2000 system. I wanted to change the autogrowth on a file from 10% to a MB setting. I did this through the GUI and got an error saying the system couldn’t find the file I was trying to change.

I then tried to change it using ALTER Database. It still said there was no such file.

I right-clicked on the DB and checked the files again. Then I had a look in dbo.sys.files and could see it. I went through windows Explorer and took a look at the file. It was there and in the place where SQL was telling me it was – yet it still insisted it wasn’t there.

Solution

I ran this script:

SELECT *
FROM master..sysaltfiles
WHERE dbid= DB_ID();

This time the file had a different logical name. It was actually a better name than the one sysfiles was claiming. So I ran a script to change th efile’s name to the one sysAltFiles had:

ALTER Database DBName
MODIFY FILE (NAME = ‘DBName_data’, NEWNAME = ‘ DBName _Data’);

Now I was able to get in and change the autogrow setting.

Leave a Reply

