Install SQL Server 2005 on Windows 7

Posted: July 2, 2012 in Installation, Operating Systems, SQL 2005, SQL Error Messages, SQL Server 2005, SQL Upgrade, Windows 7
Tags: ,

SQL Server 2005 SP3 and above is supported on Windows 7. Trying to install this I ran into the catch 22 situation: it won’t let me install SQL Server as only SP 3 and over is supported. I can’t install the service pack until SQL is installed. You can have hours of fun like this.

You may be able to get a SQL Server 2005 disc with SP3 applied but I couldn’t find one. What I did find was that it let me install developer edition. After that I installed SP4. Then I upgraded to Enterprise.

That all sounds too easy…

Of course it didn’t let me install developer edition just like that. It had to fail a couple of times first. The failure reported that SQLNCLI.msi was missing. It was there so I tried again. It failed. I then did some searching and found that this was because an earlier version of the client was installed. I went to add remove programs and removed it. After that the install went through OK.

This link will take you to my previous post on upgrading SQL Server 2005

Leave a Reply

